Austin Office | Midland Office | Georgetown Office

Free Consultationsphone512-474-2222

Contact Our Firm

NOTE: Fields with a * indicate a required field.
Name *
Email *
State
ZIP
Phone *
How would you prefer to be contacted?
E-Mail
Phone
No Preference
Briefly describe your legal issue. *

DisclaimerThe use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

I have read and understand the Disclaimer and Privacy Policy.

Contact Us
Hablamos Español

Midland Texas Stalking Crimes LawyerHave you been charged with stalking in Texas? If so, it is important to understand the charges and how to navigate the legal process. In this blog post, we will discuss what constitutes stalking in Texas, the potential penalties for a stalking conviction, and the steps you should take if you are arrested for stalking.

What is Considered Stalking in Texas?

In Texas, a person can be charged with stalking if they commit two or more of certain acts (including following someone in public or online) with intent to harass or intimidate another person. Additionally, these acts must cause substantial emotional distress to the other person. It is important to note that it does not matter whether the stalker intended to cause distress; only that they did cause the other person distress.

The Potential Penalties for a Conviction

If convicted of stalking, a defendant may face serious consequences including fines of up to $10,000 and a jail sentence of two to ten years. Additionally, a defendant may be required to attend counseling or anger management classes and may also be placed on probation for an extended period of time. A second conviction for stalking is punished even more harshly and has a maximum prison sentence of 20 years.

...

Midland Texas Drug Possession LawyerMarijuana or cannabis may be consumed in several different ways. Marijuana vaporizers or “vapes” have become increasingly popular in states that allow medical or recreational use of THC products.

In Texas, cannabis, marijuana, and THC remain illegal. Penalties for possession of cannabis products can be significant – especially if the product contains THC concentrate. If you or a loved one are facing criminal charges for marijuana possession, cultivation, or distribution, make sure to work with an experienced drug crime defense lawyer.

THC Vapes and Cartridges Can Lead to Felony Charges

With so many states changing drug laws, it can be hard to keep up to date about what is legal. Texas has some of the most restrictive laws regarding marijuana use. Texas law also classifies marijuana “flower” or plant material differently than it classifies products containing THC concentrate. Possession of THC oil cartridges or “carts” that are used in vaporizers carries especially harsh penalties.

...

Midland, TX driver's license reinstatement lawyerIn Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges can lead to criminal penalties, including fines, community service, or even jail time. However, for many people, these are not the worst of the consequences. A DWI arrest is also punishable by driver's license suspension. Once someone's license is suspended, driving any vehicle is against the law. Considering many people rely on their driving ability to get to and from work, fulfill everyday responsibilities, and care for family members, a suspended license can have a devastating effect on their lives. Fortunately, it may be possible to get your license back after a DWI in Texas.

Driver's License Suspensions in Texas

Many people do not realize that they can lose their license even if they are not convicted of drunk driving. The mere act of failing a breathalyzer can lead to a 90-day license suspension. If the police ask you to take a breath test but you refuse, the penalty is a 180-day license suspension.

 

...

Austin, TX criminal defense lawyerFew circumstances produce the anxiety associated with being wanted by the police on suspicion of criminal activity. An arrest warrant allows the police to arrest you at any time and you have no way of knowing when it will happen. You could be pulled over for a minor infraction like speeding when the police realize there is a warrant for your arrest and promptly place you in handcuffs. Or, you could visit the courthouse for a completely unrelated reason and then find yourself being arrested in front of everyone. An unexpected arrest like this can feel like an ambush. It is usually inconvenient, upsetting, and embarrassing to be arrested without any forewarning.

A jail walk-through is an alternative option for individuals with a warrant out for their arrest. The defendant essentially turns himself or herself in to the police before the police find and arrest him or her. If there is a warrant out for your arrest, you may want to consider a jail walk-through.

Do Not Wait to Be Picked Up By The Police

When someone learns that they are wanted by police, their first instinct may be to simply stay home or hide out somewhere. However, this is not a realistic long-term solution. This option forces you to give up control over how, when, and where the arrest takes place. If you wait for the police to find you, you may end up getting arrested in front of your family members, friends, or coworkers, which can be extremely embarrassing. You may not have a chance to set up childcare arrangements, talk to your boss about missing work, or handle other responsibilities. This can put you in a major predicament.

...

Austin, TX driver's license reinstatement lawyerIn Texas, drunk driving is punishable by both criminal penalties and administrative consequences. If you were convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI), the state can take your driver’s license away. Once your license is suspended, you are not allowed to drive. Diving any vehicle with a suspended driver’s license could lead to further criminal charges. If you lost your license because of a DWI, you may be able to reinstate your license and regain your legal ability to drive.

Steps to Take to Reinstate Driving Privileges After a Suspension

Each DWI case is different and the exact steps you must take to get your license back depend on the circumstances of your DWI offense, criminal history, and other factors. If you were convicted of DWI, you must pay reinstatement fees and submit paperwork to the Texas Department of Public Safety proving that they have taken the required steps. Many people accused of drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs must complete an alcohol and drug education program. They may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. This device is like the breathalyzer or breath test used during a traffic stop. The driver blows into the device and the device measures the amount of alcohol on the driver’s breath. If the device detects alcohol, the vehicle will not start. If the device does not detect any alcohol on the driver’s breath, the car will start up normally.

You May Qualify for an Occupational License

Many people need to drive in order to get to work, attend school, or care for their children. Losing their license could incur substantial personal and financial hardship. Fortunately, there may be a way to regain the legal ability to drive after a DWI through an occupational license. An occupational driver’s license or essential need license is a license that allows you to drive for specific reasons, including driving to and from work or school or completing essential errands.

...
Back to Top