Austin Office | Midland Office | Georgetown Office

Free Consultationsphone512-474-2222

Contact Our Firm

NOTE: Fields with a * indicate a required field.
Name *
Email *
Phone *
How would you prefer to be contacted?
No Preference
Briefly describe your legal issue. *

DisclaimerThe use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

I have read and understand the Disclaimer and Privacy Policy.

Contact Us
Hablamos Español

Is Marijuana Possession in Texas a Misdemeanor or Felony?

 Posted on January 23, 2024 in Criminal Defense

Austin Marijuana Possession LawyerNationwide, public sentiment is rapidly changing regarding the legality of marijuana. In some cases, the easing of public sentiment against marijuana is leading to the loosening of state laws. In states like Texas, however, the laws remain among the strictest in the nation when it comes to marijuana, especially the possession of marijuana. If you live in Texas and are facing criminal charges related to marijuana, you likely are wondering whether the charges you are facing are misdemeanors or felonies. Contact a skilled drug possession lawyer to obtain the information and essential legal help you need to fight these charges.

Texas Marijuana Possession Laws

  • Less than two ounces – Possessing less than two ounces of marijuana in Texas is considered a Class B misdemeanor. This can land someone in prison for 180 days and levy a fine of $2,000. While possessing less than two ounces is not considered a felony, it is still a serious criminal charge that can have life-altering consequences.

  • Two to four ounces – Possessing between two and four ounces of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor in Texas. This offense carries a maximum penalty of up to one year in jail and a fine of $4,000. While still not reaching the level of a felony, it is a far more serious offense than possessing less than two ounces.

  • Four ounces to five pounds – Possessing between four ounces and five pounds is indeed a felony in Texas. As a result, those convicted may face up to two years in a state jail facility and a fine of $10,000. Of course, a felony is more severe than a misdemeanor and can have earth-shattering consequences for your life.

  • Five to 50 pounds – A third-degree felony in Texas, a conviction of possessing between five and 50 pounds can result in a 10-year prison sentence and a fine of $10,000.

  • 50 to 2,000 pounds – Obviously, this is a felony that can land you in prison for decades, 20 years to be exact. Not only is it a second-degree felony that will likely land you in prison, but you will also be fined $10,000.

  • More than 2,000 pounds – This is a first-degree felony. Following a conviction, you may face up to 99 years in prison and fines of $50,000.

Contact Our Austin, TX, Marijuana Possession Attorney

Facing a marijuana possession charge? Contact the esteemed Midland, Texas, marijuana possession lawyers with Morales Law Office, Attorneys at Law, PLLC.. Call 512-474-2222 for a free consultation.

Share this post:
Back to Top