Austin Office | Midland Office | Georgetown Office

Free Consultationsphone512-474-2222

Contact Our Firm

NOTE: Fields with a * indicate a required field.
Name *
Email *
State
ZIP
Phone *
How would you prefer to be contacted?
E-Mail
Phone
No Preference
Briefly describe your legal issue. *

DisclaimerThe use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

I have read and understand the Disclaimer and Privacy Policy.

Contact Us
Hablamos Español

Recent Blog Posts

Additional Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated With a Child in the Car

 Posted on May 18, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Austin DWI defense lawyerIn Texas, driving while intoxicated is taken very seriously, and violators face severe penalties. For those who are arrested on DWI charges while driving with a child in the vehicle, you will face additional charges and could even see other parental rights be impacted. It is imperative you work with a lawyer who will aggressively defend you against the charges and provide you with the representation and guidance you need.

Driving While Intoxicated Penalties in Texas

For a first DWI, violators face a fine of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, and risk losing their driver’s license for up to one year. DWI in Texas means operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08. The potential fines, jail time, and time without a license grow with each additional DWI offense. Each charge also comes with a state fine of up to $6,000 upon sentencing. The charges for drunk driving with a child passenger, defined as a child under 15, become more severe. You face a state jail felony, even if it is your first DWI offense. Additionally, you will be charged with child endangerment, regardless of whether the child was injured or otherwise harmed during the incident. Simply their presence in the car is enough for the additional charge.

Continue Reading ››

Can a Lawyer Help After My Travis County Trip-and-Fall Accident?

 Posted on May 03, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Travis County personal injury lawyerA trip-and-fall accident may seem trivial, even laughable. But, many times that fall resulting from tripping or slipping can cause major long-term or even life-threatening conditions, from severely broken bones to brain injuries. If your injuries are caused by someone else’s negligence, then Texas law says you deserve proper compensation. This is where a personal injury attorney with premises liability experience can make all the difference.

Who Is Really Liable for That Accident?

Say you slip and fall in a store. Is the business itself responsible for your accident? Maybe not. Maybe it was poor construction on a flight of stairs that caused you to fall. So the owner of the property may be liable, or perhaps a contractor who recently worked on those stairs, or even a different vendor who also works out of the property. A knowledgeable lawyer can examine all the particulars of your claim and find out who is liable—or whether more than one party shares responsibility for the accident. That could make a big difference in your ultimate compensation.

Continue Reading ››

Keeping Your Drivers’ License After A DWI

 Posted on April 15, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Midland Texas Criminal Defense LawyerWhen you walk into an Administrative License Revocation hearing following an arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI), the deck might as well be stacked against you. Since the ALR hearing is not technically a criminal matter, many of the normal rules of evidence do not apply. The hearing officer, who is not a judge and probably not even an attorney, serves as prosecutor, judge, and jury in such cases.

In practice, however, the outcome is almost a secondary concern. Even if you do not “win” the ALR hearing, the process can be a very valuable component of your defense.

What is at Stake?

If you are arrested for DWI and you either refuse to provide a sample or fail the chemical test, the state will almost certainly take action against your drivers’ license. So, the only way to avoid possible licenses suspension is to take a breath or blood test and pass it. If you refuse a test, the Department of Public Safety may suspend your license for up to six months for a first offense and two years for a subsequent offense. If you failed the test, the suspension period is a maximum of 90 days or one year. Commercial drivers and motorists under 21 may face longer possible suspension periods.

Continue Reading ››

Could High Visibility Police Lights Affect the Results of Field Sobriety Tests?

 Posted on April 07, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Midland Texas DWI LawyerMany police cruisers are now equipped with next-generation high-intensity lights, including LED strobes and windshield column floodlights. While these lights are great for visibility on the scene of a traffic stop, are they actually having an effect on the accuracy of DWI field sobriety tests? How does this equipment affect DWI field tests?

High-intensity lights are also now in the hands of officers who once had to rely on underpowered hand-held flashlights to illuminate a dark parking lot or street corner. The new lights are not only brighter, but they are also important tools when subduing a suspect. These devices are designed to disorient and temporarily blind suspects, mainly because of the light beam’s intensity. One field officer compared the impact of strobe lights to the disabling capability of a Taser or a quick kick in the groin. These devices are also designed to disrupt a person’s peripheral vision, which may have an impact on depth perception.

Continue Reading ››

Wrongful Death Lawsuit: Financial Justice for Your Loved One’s Death

 Posted on March 25, 2022 in Personal Injury

Midland Texas Wrongful Death LawyerThere are many accidents that are caused by another party’s negligence where the victim does not survive their injuries. In these tragic circumstances, the victim’s survivors can pursue legal action against that party or parties who are responsible for the death. A wrongful death lawsuit can be critical in helping secure financial stability for the victim’s family.

What Is a Wrongful Death Lawsuit?

Wrongful death lawsuits allow survivors of victims who die as a result of the negligence or wrongdoing of another person to recover monetary damages from the person legally liable for the death. Under the Texas Wrongful Death Act, the law says that if a victim is killed due to another party’s wrongful act, negligence, or any other act that breaches a party’s duty to exercise reasonable care, that party can be held financially liable.

Under the law, a wrongful death lawsuit can only be filed by surviving spouse, the children, and the parents of the victim. A lawsuit can also be filed by a representative for the victim’s estate.

Continue Reading ››

The Seriousness of Reckless Driving Charges in Texas

 Posted on March 08, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Midland Texas Criminal Defense AttorneyWhen a person engages in driving behaviors that can be classified under the law as reckless, they put themselves and everyone else around them in danger. Because of the seriousness of these actions, a charge of reckless driving is not considered a traffic violation in Texas, but is instead classified as a misdemeanor criminal offense. Anyone accused of reckless driving is arrested and must go through the criminal court system where they will be found either guilty or not guilty in order for the case to come to a resolution. This is why it is important to have a Travis County defense attorney advocating for you.

What Driving Behaviors Can Result in a Reckless Driving Charges?

Under Texas law, a person is guilty of reckless driving if they drive their vehicle, “in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” There are multiple driving behaviors which can result in a driver getting arrested and charged with reckless driving. Any driving behavior that puts others at risk of injury or death can be classified as reckless driving. There are some behaviors that are more common than others, including:

Continue Reading ››

Arrest Warrants in Texas

 Posted on February 17, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Midland Texas Criminal Defense LawyerWhen an individual learns that an arrest warrant has been issued against them, the person may be sent into a panic. They may envision being pulled over for minor infractions and being taken to jail after the warrant is discovered, or having the police show up at their home or place of employment. While these scenarios do occur, the fact is that the actions law enforcement takes will likely depend on your specific criminal charges and the circumstances surrounding your case. However, an arrest warrant is nothing to take lightly and is something you should consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney on right away to ensure your rights and best interests are protected.

Arrest Warrants in Texas

An arrest warrant can be issued whenever the law is broken, whether it involves a charge of theft, a white-collar crime such as fraud or embezzlement, or more serious and violent criminal offenses. Under Texas law, a law enforcement official can arrest you at the scene immediately if they see a crime has been committed, or they can request an arrest warrant from the court based on the evidence in your case.

Continue Reading ››

What to Do if You Are Accused of a Sexual Offense

 Posted on February 03, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Midland Texas Criminal Defense AttorneyOf all the criminal charges in the Texas criminal justice system, sex crimes are among the most serious. In addition to eliciting a strong response from the general public, these charges are likely to have a significant impact on your career and as well as your personal relationships. Being charged with a sexual offense can also jeopardize your parental rights. In these situations, it is important to take the steps necessary to protect yourself. The following steps can be critical to the final outcome of your case.

Steps to Take when Facing Sex Crime Charges

There are a variety of different types of sex crimes listed under the Texas criminal law statutes. These can range from stalking and sexual harassment, to engaging in illicit and illegal conduct online, all the way up to charges of rape and sexual assault. In any of these situations, it is important to take the following steps to protect yourself:

Continue Reading ››

Steps to Take Following a DWI Arrest

 Posted on January 27, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Midland Texas Drunk Driving LawyerWhen a driver is arrested for DWI, it is understandably a very stressful–and sometimes frightening–experience, especially if it is their first time ever being arrested. Not only are your driving privileges at stake, but a DWI conviction can also have an impact on other areas of your life, as well. The steps you take immediately following your arrest can help improve the outcome of your case. The following recommendations are a brief overview of how you should proceed. A DWI defense attorney from our firm can provide you with more detailed information about your situation if you have been charged.

How You Can Help Your Attorney

After you are arrested for drunk driving, you will likely be released from jail while you await trial. There are likely stipulations that the court issued that are contingent with you remaining free until your case is resolved and it is critical that you follow those stipulations.

Continue Reading ››

Defending Against Drug Possession Charges in Texas

 Posted on January 18, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Midland Texas Drug Crimes Defense LawyerBeing charged with a drug crime is a serious matter in any state, but penalties if convicted in Texas are especially harsh. Even a conviction for drug possession can result in a jail sentence, depending on the circumstances of the case. However, a prosecutor’s case is only as strong as the evidence he or she is able to present to a jury and if that evidence is weak or tainted, a defense attorney may be able to convince the court that it is inadmissible.

Drug Possession in Texas

Under Texas law, there are four classes of drugs. Marijuana has a separate class of its own. Each class has its own set of penalties that the court can impose if a person is found guilty of drug possession.

Depending on the type and amount of the drug a person is accused of possessing, the charges can range from a Class B or Class C misdemeanor (with conviction carrying a penalty of up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000), third-degree felony, up to a first-degree felony. The harshest penalty a person convicted of drug possession can receive is 99 years to life in prison and/or a fine of up to $250,000.

Continue Reading ››

Back to Top