Austin Office | Midland Office | Georgetown Office

Free Consultationsphone512-474-2222

Contact Our Firm

NOTE: Fields with a * indicate a required field.
Name *
Email *
State
ZIP
Phone *
How would you prefer to be contacted?
E-Mail
Phone
No Preference
Briefly describe your legal issue. *

DisclaimerThe use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

I have read and understand the Disclaimer and Privacy Policy.

Contact Us
Hablamos Español
Recent blog posts

Midland Texas Sex Crimes LawyerOriginally published: August 24, 2020 -- Updated: June 14, 2022

Update: In addition to the law described below, which makes it illegal to send unsolicited and unwanted photos to someone else online, people should also be aware that it is illegal to post intimate pictures or videos of others online without their consent. This is commonly known as “revenge porn,” and violating this law is considered a sex crime in Texas.

The applicable law specifically prohibits the unlawful disclosure or promotion of intimate visual material. Applicable materials may include photos, videos, or other depictions of a person’s intimate parts being exposed or engaging in sexual conduct, and these materials must have been obtained with the expectation that they would remain private. If the disclosure of these materials, such as by posting them online, would reveal the person’s identity and cause them to suffer harm, the person who shared the images or videos may be charged with a crime. It is also a crime to threaten to share these types of materials in order to obtain benefits from another person.

...

Austin Marijuana Possession LawyerEven though the use of marijuana has become more accepted in many parts of the United States, it is still considered to be an illegal drug in many locations. Texas is the largest state that still treats marijuana as an illegal controlled substance, and residents of the state who are found in possession of marijuana could potentially be charged with drug crimes, including simple possession charges or more serious offenses related to manufacturing or distributing marijuana.

Will Texas’ Marijuana Laws Change in the Future?

A recent poll showed that a significant majority of Texans support the legalization of marijuana. Overall, 83 percent of people in the state are in favor of legalizing the drug for medical use. People are less in favor of the legalization of recreational marijuana, but 60 percent of the state’s residents are in favor of doing so. However, despite public support, Governor Greg Abbott and other lawmakers have stated that they believe recreational marijuana should remain illegal, although they have made an effort to expand its availability for medical purposes. 

The possession and use of marijuana continues to be an issue due to the legalization of the drug in other states. Most recently, New Mexico has allowed the recreational use of marijuana, and this may lead people to travel to that state, purchase marijuana, and bring it back to Texas. Law enforcement officials have warned against this practice, stating that they will continue to enforce Texas’ drug laws and prosecute those who are found in possession of marijuana. 

...

Austin DWI defense lawyerIn Texas, driving while intoxicated is taken very seriously, and violators face severe penalties. For those who are arrested on DWI charges while driving with a child in the vehicle, you will face additional charges and could even see other parental rights be impacted. It is imperative you work with a lawyer who will aggressively defend you against the charges and provide you with the representation and guidance you need.

Driving While Intoxicated Penalties in Texas

For a first DWI, violators face a fine of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, and risk losing their driver’s license for up to one year. DWI in Texas means operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08. The potential fines, jail time, and time without a license grow with each additional DWI offense. Each charge also comes with a state fine of up to $6,000 upon sentencing. The charges for drunk driving with a child passenger, defined as a child under 15, become more severe. You face a state jail felony, even if it is your first DWI offense. Additionally, you will be charged with child endangerment, regardless of whether the child was injured or otherwise harmed during the incident. Simply their presence in the car is enough for the additional charge.

Penalties for a conviction include:

...

Travis County personal injury lawyerA trip-and-fall accident may seem trivial, even laughable. But, many times that fall resulting from tripping or slipping can cause major long-term or even life-threatening conditions, from severely broken bones to brain injuries. If your injuries are caused by someone else’s negligence, then Texas law says you deserve proper compensation. This is where a personal injury attorney with premises liability experience can make all the difference.

Who Is Really Liable for That Accident?

Say you slip and fall in a store. Is the business itself responsible for your accident? Maybe not. Maybe it was poor construction on a flight of stairs that caused you to fall. So the owner of the property may be liable, or perhaps a contractor who recently worked on those stairs, or even a different vendor who also works out of the property. A knowledgeable lawyer can examine all the particulars of your claim and find out who is liable—or whether more than one party shares responsibility for the accident. That could make a big difference in your ultimate compensation.

We Can Handle the Insurance Company and Gather Your Evidence

In many cases like this, the other party’s insurance company typically tries to put the blame back on you: that they could not have foreseen the danger (even if they did), and that you ignored warnings or chose to go somewhere hazardous. You do not need this aggravation, and your lack of legal knowledge can only hurt you in these interactions. If we go up against them instead, then frankly, you will have less stress and come out better. We may also have better access to needed information, such as other people who have been injured due to this party’s past negligence, or unfavorable maintenance records. We can also have experts examine the scene to lend perspective on how and why your fall actually happened.

...

Midland Texas Criminal Defense LawyerWhen you walk into an Administrative License Revocation hearing following an arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI), the deck might as well be stacked against you. Since the ALR hearing is not technically a criminal matter, many of the normal rules of evidence do not apply. The hearing officer, who is not a judge and probably not even an attorney, serves as prosecutor, judge, and jury in such cases.

In practice, however, the outcome is almost a secondary concern. Even if you do not “win” the ALR hearing, the process can be a very valuable component of your defense.

What is at Stake?

If you are arrested for DWI and you either refuse to provide a sample or fail the chemical test, the state will almost certainly take action against your drivers’ license. So, the only way to avoid possible licenses suspension is to take a breath or blood test and pass it. If you refuse a test, the Department of Public Safety may suspend your license for up to six months for a first offense and two years for a subsequent offense. If you failed the test, the suspension period is a maximum of 90 days or one year. Commercial drivers and motorists under 21 may face longer possible suspension periods.

...
Back to Top